Why you should stock up on garlic during winter.

tumblr_nlde5z4rlt1ro3pofo1_500

Its cold/flu season here in the UK, where we get reminders from our doctors to take our ‘flu jabs’  *rolls eyes*

What if I told you that there are natural remedies far more effective against colds and flu?

Infact, ill tell you about my all time favourite…GARLIC!!

Here are some of the reasons supported by research:

  • It is an antibacterial
  • Helps to maintain a healthy heart
  • Strengthens immune system
  • Reduces blood pressure
  • Lowers Cholesterol
  • Fights fatigue

The moment our bodies are in a state of dis-ease, we instinctively seek to get better. As a result, we tend to gravitate toward the most accessible means of remedy such as pain killers, antibiotics, you know, the things doctors usually recommend. I too used to be that person, but since taking more control over my health, I noticed that there were so many other alternative remedies that could do the same job but without the side-effects that are usually associated with most pharmaceutical drugs.

Garlic has been used for centuries to combat an array of ailments which I have previously used for symptoms of:

  • Thrush
  • UTIs
  • Hives
  • Sore throat
  • Colds

Now I’m not saying that garlic is the cure to all conditions but I can definitely say it has proven beneficial in my experiences. But hey, don’t just take my word for it.

One large 12-week study found that a daily garlic supplement reduced the number of colds by 63% compared with placebo.
Another study found that a high dose of garlic extract (2.56 grams per day) can reduce the number of days sick with cold or flu by 61%. If you dedicate just 15 mins of your time to do a quick google search, you’ll find tons of studies supporting garlic’s beneficial properties.

Research suggests that garlic inhibits the growth of many bacteria, viruses and fungi, including candida, E. coli, Staphylococcus and Streptococcus. This is believed to be due to the antibacterial and antifungal activity is due to allicin, a compound within garlic.

So as you can see, this superfood is packed full of disease fighting nutrients, and it’s probably just catching dust on your vegetable rack waiting to be thrown away.

 

One of my frequent methods of taking garlic is in the form of a tea/tonic. It’s a great way to make use of those those neglected garlic bulbs in your kitchen, its also cheap & easy to make:

Needed Ingredients:

1 cup hot water

2 cloves of garlic with skin on

Directions:

1. Have a cup of boiled water ready

2. Crush Garlic (To release allicin, garlic must be crushed, cut or chewed while raw)

3. Add the crushed Garlic to the boiled water

4. Cover with a saucer or lid and let brew for 2-5 mins

You can add Manuka honey to taste although it tastes just fine with out.

*Its best not to boil the garlic as this kills the antibacterial properties (Allicin)*

I drink this anytime I am feeling unwell myself.


I recently made this for my partner whilst he had a cold and its safe to say that he was astonished with the results.

‘’I had garlic tea last night and I woke up feeling like superman! I haven’t woken up like that in yonks! My day has been super productive so far, and as for mental clarity…ideas are firing from the synapses!!’’

Now he drinks this pretty much every night without fail!

As you can see, garlic is good for warding off more than just vampires at night.

So for better health all round, do yourself a favour and get your garlic on! 

Leave a Reply

