A little bit about me.

DSC_1336.jpg

Growing up, I was always quite a peculiar child. From my inquisitive mind, the films I liked watching, my dress sense, to the foods which I enjoyed eating. I was rarely in uniform with my peers and thankfully this is not something I wished would change.

My mother often tells me stories from my youth. A funny one is that I used to enjoy watching sumo wrestling at the tender age of 1 and actually wanted to become a Sumo wrestler.

With this in mind, it is no secret that I was an active child. My interests went from being a Sumo wrestler to a stunt woman. I was often found creating my own stunt circuits jumping, climbing, hanging & tumbling from anything that would have me.

At the age of 17, a friend who was a stylist needed a last minute replacement model. This was the almost accidental start to a successful & professional modelling career.

However, after many years in the industry there was still somethings which I hadn’t initiated.

I continued to practice an array of different sporting activities. From kick boxing to track & field, Yoga, Olympic lifting & Power lifting.

My love for yoga came in quite early on. I started my practice approximately 7 years ago.

I remember the first class (Bikram) which I took. It was hot, the air was thick and had a density to it. The challenge to remain present throughout the heat was exactly that…challenging.

Continuing this style of yoga for at least 3 years, I wanted to find a way to be self sufficient. To not have to rely on external heat to help with the depth of my postures as, for me, yoga goes beyond asanas. This is when I started to explore the idea of teaching.

Always having lived in the city, I were aware of our societal conflicts.

I asked myself what my talents could do for my future children and all those beyond. With mantra & affirmation in mind; I committed to a 300hr Hatha course, followed by a 200hr Teacher training course.

My yoga philosophy is truly an extension of myself. I extend verbal and energetic guidance and provide manual adjustments to my students. I teach breath techniques that create internal heat, breath techniques that facilitate movement, alignment, and ultimately the union of the self often through a Vinyasa flow.

I also provide in-depth support with regular 1:1 clients. Giving posture analysis and teaching Pranayama & Kriya techniques.

On the food/nutrition front, I have been a carnivore, a vegan and am now a pescatarian.

It has always been of interest to me; what we put in our bodies and how these things affect us.

I have taken a course in nutrition so that I could further my knowledge and support others through their dietary needs.

Through my blog, I hope to offer a broader understanding of how yoga, good nutrition and overall wellbeing can help harmonise our psyche.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Charles Rare says:

    Reblogged this on A Rare Perspective and commented:
    Check out my partner’s new blog! She’ll be writing about all things Yoga, Nutrition and Wellbeing!

    Like

  2. This is wonderfully inspiring. Thank you for sharing your story. I am always on the look out for women of African descent teaching yoga in the UK so I look forward to coming along to one of your classes someday soon. Wishing you abundance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

